Happy Birthday Dorothy Dandridge!

dorothydandridgeposters-dorothydandridge-gregorywishum

Dorothy Dandridge is often described as “our Marilyn Monroe.” I’ve never agreed with that statement. Dorothy Dandridge was our Dorothy Dandridge.

Simple as that.

I cannot tell you how many people I’ve met over the years who have never heard of this amazingly beautiful and talented woman. You wouldn’t believe how many Black women have entire Twitter and Facebook pages dedicated to Marilyn Monroe but have never seen or heard of the classic, Carmen Jones. While I’ve been told that, as a 90s baby, this says more about my generation’s disconnect from our history than it does about Dandridge, it still infuriates me.

Read the rest of my piece on the significance of Dorothy Dandridge at [EBONY]

Photo courtesy of [Black Art Depot Today]

One thought on “Happy Birthday Dorothy Dandridge!

  1. Pingback: Dorothy Dandridge | johnsonreginald3

Leave a Reply

